Postcards from 100 years ago





Founded on 30 August 1835 (in what was then the Colony of New South Wales), by settlers from Launceston in Van Diemen's Land, it was incorporated as a Crown settlement in 1837. It was named "Melbourne" by the Governor of New South Wales, Sir Richard Bourke, in honour of the British Prime Minister of the day, William Lamb, 2nd Viscount Melbourne.  It was declared a city by Queen Victoria in 1847,  before becoming the capital city of the newly created Colony of Victoria in 1851.  During the Victorian gold rush of the 1850s, it was transformed into one of the world's largest and wealthiest cities.   After the federation of Australia in 1901, Melbourne served as the interim seat of government for the newly created nation of Australia until 1927 

87 View of Melbourne

104 View from Alexandra Ave


226 Birds Eye View







   Contact Us

   Privacy Policy

   Site Map