Suspension Bridge - North
This picturesque bridge has had many name references to it over the last 100 years including: The Suspension
Bridge, Northbridge; The Suspension Bridge, Cammeray; Cammeray Bridge; The North Sydney Suspension Bridge;
Suspension Bridge, North Sydney.
1880s North Sydney Tramway and Development Company formed to sell land and develop area north of Flat
1889/90 Construction underway. The Bridge's designers, W H Warren and J E F Coyle, chose an ornate suspension
structure which was the largest of its type in Australia at the time and the fourth largest in the
1892 The Suspension Bridge opened with much acclaim becoming an instant tourist attraction featured on postcards
and in many glossy publications of the day. Initially the Bridge operated as a foot bridge only with a toll charge
of threepence return for adults and one penny for children.
1909 Tramway line constructed to the Bridge opened in May 1909. This line assisted the development of the area
which commonly became known as "Suspension Bridge".
Department of Main Roads took control of the Bridge and discovers serious faults in the steel-work and cables.
Bridge was closed to all vehicle traffic at this time. Major repair work commenced replacing the suspension
structure with a reinforced concrete arch. Although the name of "Cammeray Bridge" was attached to the newly
restored Bridge, the popular name of "Suspension Bridge" survives to the present day. Cammeray became the name of
the area surrounding the Bridge during the 1920s. The name is in honour of the "Cammeraygal" Aboriginal tribe, the
former inhabitants of this area of North Sydney. In 1939 the bridge reopened and the tram service was